Buying communion wine

2»

Comments

• EnochEnoch Shipmate
    There may well be shipmates who will disagree with me and claim that at their place this is done regularly, but I was confirmed over 50 years ago, and I don't think I've ever seen anyone receive the bread at communion in the CofE by sticking their tongue out and having it placed upon the tongue. As far as I know, in the UK that's an exclusively RC custom. In terms of infection, it always looks like one of the most unhealthy options.

In the CofE, the bread, whether leavened or wafer, is received in the hand, preferably (as I was taught over 50 years ago, see above) by placing one palm over the other in the form of a cross.
  • I have been attending communion regularly in the CofE for just over two years and I have seen it every single time I think. Actually, maybe not, I am not sure that anyone did last Saturday.
  • Gee DGee D Shipmate
    Gee D wrote: »
    Yes, and they can decline the cup if they wish to.

Exclusion on the basis of personal issues? Not at the communion table surely!

They do not have to take the cup.
  • Gee DGee D Shipmate
    O to put it another way: say that I have some other illness which means that I can't have wine - I'd take in one kind only. What's the difference?
  • Yeah except alcoholism is all about an inability to self-control around alcohol.
  • 1. Silver may have some antimicrobial properties but, if it does, we don't know how they work

Silver as Ag+ is known to be antimicrobial,
    The effectiveness of silver compounds as an antiseptic is based on the ability of the biologically active silver ion (Ag+) to irreversibly damage key enzyme systems in the cell membranes of pathogens¹

¹ Wikipedia on medical uses of silver
  • Gee D wrote: »