Advice on Good Friday music

2»

Comments

• Lincoln ImpLincoln Imp Shipmate Posts: 4
    plainsong resources in the public domain on CPDL aplenty (all for free), some with audio, all with modern notation or web links if you can't read original notation.
  • MamacitaMamacita Shipmate
    There are good suggestions here. Might I also suggest My Song is Love Unknown. The tune is lovely and gentle, and it's the one that always brings me to tears on Good Friday.
  • An excellent choice, though we use it as the Offertory Hymn on Palm Sunday - it's quite long, so plenty of time to prepare the altar, and swing the incense!
  • ZappaZappa Ecclesiantics Host
    edited April 2019
    [Hosting]
    busylizzy wrote: »
    Hi,
    I’m new to this ship so please excuse me if this is an inappropriate request...

I’ve been asked to sing a solo during communion on Good Friday <snip>

I cannot believe there is a Mass on Good Friday. What diocese are you in?

The permitted services in the RC church for Good Friday are:
    The Office of Readings (I suppose you could have Morning Prayer instead)
    Stations of the Cross
    Solemn Liturgy of the Passion (again, possible to have a devotional service of readings with either hymns/ choir music, all of which should be unaccompanied)

There is never a Mass between the Mass of the Lord's Supper on Maundy Thursday evening and the Mass celebrated within the Vigil Service on the Saturday night. And by tradition there is no accompanied music from that time until the Gloria is sung at the Vigil service after the lighting of the Paschal Candle.

[Edit ... OCD host fixing glitches]

^^^^That ^^^^ aside

Please remember the Ten Commndments. The italicised [i.e. italics added] statements are not, to say the least, conducive to contructive conversation. Furthermore, though perhaps rhetorical, the first query invites partial outing.