Where does the idea of generational curses come from?

So, this is my first time posting on the new boards. I’ve been away for a bit. I hope this is the right board for this topic.

At our new church (been there 4 months or so, not ready to ruffle feathers or get kicked out just yet ;-) the topic of generational curses has come up. The usual verse related to the Ten Commandments (Exodus 20:4-6) was quoted as evidence for their existence. However as far as I can tell the idea of needing to do some kind of ritual or say a particular prayer about your ancestors sins is a fairly recent idea. I am curious about where this idea came from.

Also if our lives can be so badly messed up, and we could have all kinds of demons bothering us because of an ancestor’s involvement in another religion, wouldn’t the early Gentile churches have been absolutely infested with this problem? If it is real why didn’t Paul talk about it explicitly in his letters? Why aren’t such rituals described in the book of Acts?

So two questions:
1. Is there more biblical basis for this then a few isolated verses in the OT?
2. If there isn’t (which would be my opinion) where do these ideas come from?

Comments

• Here is one summary of such verses.

In one sense, it's not difficult to see that the "sins of the fathers" are visited on subsequent generations in the sense that the latter often bear the consequences of poor decisions on the part of the former.

In terms of actual 'liability', Ezekiel 18 provides a fairly solid indication of individual responsibility, at least in the foretold New Covenant.

It sounds like your new church might be into stuff like "The Bondage Breaker" by Neil Anderson, which kind of exemplifies the type of Christianity that goes round looking for things to deliver (other) Christians from. I wrote a critique of Anderson's book a long time ago now, here. It's a recipe for spiritual abuse, unhealthy dependency on leadership, and a climate of guilt and fear.