Praying with beads

Forgive me if we've had this topic before, but I'm a newbie at this kind of prayer.

We had a thread recently about The Jesus Prayer and I think rosaries and prayer ropes and similar accoutrements were mentioned there.

I've recently started using a small Orthodox prayer rope - more like a bracelet than a belt - for The Jesus Prayer and a small Anglican Rosary for other meditative prayers and intercessions. It's early days but I am finding them helpful.

Would Shippies who use such aids to prayer or contemplation share how they find using these?

It's all new to me so I'm still finding my feet and would be interested in what others have found when using these or similar items.

Comments

• I don't have much experience with rosaries. The prayer ropes I find easy to use and easy to carry around.
  • Yes, that's the advantage of them. I got the Anglican Rosary for domestic rather than mobile use and because it seemed a bit simpler than the RC ones - no disrespect intended to RC Shipmates.
  • ZappaZappa Ecclesiantics Host
    Unfortunately as an extreme P on a Myers-Brigg I find even these are not enough to keep my mind from wander - goodness was that a butterfly? So out of season. Poor little thing will freeze. :cry:

However many people I know find them indispensable (oh heavens ... did I buy enough milk?) and I so get that .

For me only the printed word keeps me on track.

Track. Now there's a thought. The 6 o'clock is running late this morning.
  • Pearls of Life are quite the rage in Swedish prisons and elsewhere.
  • Jengie JonJengie Jon Shipmate
    Sorry, this is really long, especially as some of the comments assume a reading of the blog post that is also long.