English translations of the NT - why James, not Jacob?

AndrasAndras Shipmate
Apologies if this is an old question asked and answered long ago, but I'm wondering why English versions of the New Testament translate the Ἰάκωβος of the Greek and the Iacobus of the Vulgate as James rather than the obvious Jacob. The error - if that's what it is - certainly goes back as far as Tyndale.

I've heard it suggested that the AV translation uses James as a fawning compliment to James I / VI, but the Tyndale use of the same form seems to disprove that.

Comments

• EutychusEutychus Admin
    edited July 11
    Some etymological explanations are offered here.

A long long time ago I studied history of the (French) language as it arose from Latin; from what I learned there, a natural path from Iacobus to James, with the "k" sound disappearing and the "b" softening to an "m", especially before another vowel, seems entirely plausible without incorporating any fawning to kings.

(The article notes that this resulted in the Spanish Jaime, although in French itself we have Jacques).
  • agingjbagingjb Shipmate
    Wycliffe and Douay-Rheims both use "James".

The Vulgate has "Iacob" (apparently uninflected) for the patriarch and "Iacobus" (variously inflected) for the apostle.
  • KarlLBKarlLB Shipmate
    agingjb wrote: »
    Wycliffe and Douay-Rheims both use "James".

The Vulgate has "Iacob" (apparently uninflected) for the patriarch and "Iacobus" (variously inflected) for the apostle.

Probably because Latin writers saw its analogous declensions with Greek and Latinised them, so Iakobos was Latinised as Iacobus and declined like any other 2nd declension noun. Words from more distant languages like Hebrew or Aramaic were generally considered indeclinable, although they could perfectly well have been declined as 3rd declension which had no fixed ending for the Nominative Sing.