Sneaking non-church music into the church band

bigjonbigjon Shipmate
A passing remark of mine in the 'Metal' thread has set off a tangent that apparently deserves its own thread, so here goes -

As an electric guitarist I enjoy putting elements of Hard Rock 80s-style into the arrangements of songs we play in church - here's a thread to share favourites.

Comments

• bigjonbigjon Shipmate
    I'll start with one that I was reminded of recently in the radio -

Bring Me To Life by Evanescence happens to have the same chord sequence in its chorus as the first half of Father God I Wonder, so it's a simple matter to carry over the low-down gated killswitch-stuttering distorted guitar with pinch-harmonic squeal (slowed down a bit) from one to the other :-)
  • RicardusRicardus Shipmate
    I know of an organist who, visiting my parents' ultra-High parish, managed to sneak 'Smoke gets in your eyes' into the communion music ...
  • Mine are a bit out of date:

The opening riff of "Pretty Woman" goes nicely in Paul Oakley's "All around the world" just after the line "lift the banner high, hear the lion roar".

"Let there be Joy" by Bruce Napier pretty much is "Rockin' all over the world" by Status Quo with no further adjustment required.

The opening riff of "Where the Streets have no name" goes well right before the chorus in "The Lord is my strength and my song" by Frank Gallian.

And the intro to Hillsong's "My Redeemer Lives" is positively crying out to have the opening riff of "Spirit of Radio" plastered over it.
  • TheOrganistTheOrganist Shipmate
    edited October 27
    There have always been incidences of musicians "sneaking in" elements of pieces not written for worship. The simple reason is that back in the day before the electronic "church band" (yes, there really was a time!) you had a situation where good musicians split their time working between church and secular employers.