Canterbury Cap

The Rectory CatThe Rectory Cat Shipmate Posts: 1
Hi folks, please can anyone advise the correct times to wear a Canterbury cap for a priest celebrating Holy Communion? As far as I can tell, it is when processing and when seated, but Dearmer also says something about wearing it while pronouncing absolution ... *confused face*

And what do you do with it when not wearing it? Thanks.
Tagged:

Comments

• BabyWombatBabyWombat Shipmate
    Well, I am no expert and bow to others more knowledgeable here, but I love my Canterbury Cap in cold weather! I follow the pattern of the older RC practice for the biretta -- on the head when processing or sitting in one's chair, off when standing for the gospel and creed, and certainly off when celebrating. I remove it for the confession of sin and do not put it back on for the absolution. (And wear it not if the church has good heating)

Now, it can be fun to tip one's biretta to a prelate (rather like tipping a top hat) but it is quite difficult to tip a Canterbury cap. I tend to need both hands to get it on snugly enough so as to not slide around. (Husband says I am enough of a fat head some days that should not be a problem )

A very high up the candle priest friend wears a biretta, and will just barely lift it off the forehead at the mention of St. Mary, before settling it back down. Husband also says that looks like something out of an old movie set in the wild west, as if said priest is saying "Howdy m'am, just passing through"
  • PDRPDR Shipmate
    edited March 23
    @The Rectory Cat - which book by Dearmer are you referencing? My recollection is that the Cap is not worn during services but with cassock and gown. Mind you, you may have provided me with a handy distraction whilst I am home with my wings clipped with this virus business.