Pending

Colin SmithColin Smith Shipmate
edited March 7 in Purgatory
I'll figure out a better title later. Meanwhile, I think I'd better admit to why I'm here and purgatory seems the right place to do it.

In simple terms:
1. I'm a writer; admittedly unpublished but I take it seriously and I am (allegedly) quite good at it. And no, that's not based on my mum's opinion.
2. I'm an atheist. Nothing wrong with that. I'm a happy atheist and not one of those annoying atheists who feels the need to pick a fight with anyone who has faith, regardless of what that faith is. I'm proud of the fact that the only online forum where I felt seriously unwelcome was a group for atheists: seems I wasn't atheist enough.
3. As a writer I need to depict as honestly as I can people who are not like me. That's not too bad in third person (he said, she said, Jim said, Julie said, etcetera) where I can be male, female, old, young, and even a mouse (short sentences, no attention span, obsession with food) but gets a lot trickier in first person where the interior reality of a person is wholly exposed.

I have a character named Nevil Warbrook: you can Google him actually because every online iteration of Nevil Warbrook is me. He's more of an alter ego, as he and I have a great deal in common, but one thing we don't have in common is belief. Nevil is Anglican, or as we call it C of E, which is to say, how might I put it, his faith is church-centred rather than God or Jesus centred. He is secretary of the P.C.C. at St James' in Avebury but is more concerned with the historic church interior than with spreading The Word to the Heathens who visit Avebury's ancient stones and though he prays as much as he thinks he ought he'd fall over if anyone, or anything, ever answered back.