Memories of discovering the Internet

2»

Comments

• Here's my very tenuous claim to fame as far as the www is concerned.....my ex husband's brother in law employed Tim Berners Lee as a young man ( in his printer company) before he joined CERN.
  • MarsupialMarsupial Shipmate
    I think I discovered the WWW at a friend's place, probably sometime in the early 90s, but I didn't have my own access till the mid-90s, first through Lynx on Telnet and then eventually through Netscape once I upgraded to a Windows machine. (I was a humanities graduate student with no money, so not really an early adopter in matters of technology.)

Speaking of which, the Mac on my desk at home is over a decade old. It still works remarkably well, considering.
  • I think it was 2000 for me at a friend’s place. I still use the email address I set up at the time. I was clearly late to the game. Even at uni I only really had access via computer rooms. Although not having a computer was part of that.
    It was 2008 when I first lived with wifi and reliable internet access.
  • HuiaHuia Shipmate
    Not necessarily - there were other Triumph car models (and motor cycles). The Herald might seem more appropriate than the Stag,

I had a Triumph Herald - it died of galloping rust. :cry:
  • As did most cars of the era.
  • jay_emmjay_emm Shipmate
    When I started secondary school in 1995, they had a room with BBC computers (with good simple games) and a slightly smaller Windows room with 'no' internet
    Around 1998 we were taught to sign into "excitepost" or "hotmail" (that was on new computers in what had been the 6th form room) but it was really too slow (massively shared connection) to be of much interest. 'I.T.' lessons became a thing around then for everyone.
    I used excel on Dad's laptop (white on black) sometime before we used it at school, but I can't put that in perspective. And at some point the home Acorn got replaced with a PC.