Advice on Good Friday music

Hi,
I’m new to this ship so please excuse me if this is an inappropriate request...

I’ve been asked to sing a solo during communion on Good Friday because the choir is struggling. I’d like to sing something not too ‘solo-y’, i.e. something that doesn’t draw attention to my voice but rather enhances the meditative quality of the service at that point. I can sing Bach/Handel/Pergolesi/Vivaldi, and would choose to do so in a church with more of a choral tradition, but feel that might not be appropriate in a (RC) church with a more guitar-led worship approach (although the music for the rest of Good Friday is pretty traditional/choral).

Does anyone have strong feelings about this?

My options are:
Bach Erbarme dich
Handel He was despised
OR (sung a cappella):
What wondrous love is this
Take my mother home
OR:
Some kind of chant? (I’ve done a fair amount of this before so quite happy to learn one for this).
OR:
Any other suggestions for contralto/mezzo.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Mrs B

Comments

• RublevRublev Shipmate
    'Were you there when they crucified my Lord?' is very powerful in a Good Friday service.
  • busylizzybusylizzy Shipmate
    Yes, indeed, but they are already singing that, I should have said.
  • Nick TamenNick Tamen Shipmate
    “He Never Said a Mumblin’ Word”?
  • ThunderBunkThunderBunk Shipmate
    As you're singing in a RC church I'd suggest singing the gregorian chant offertory for Good Friday. Authentically done as an unaccompanied solo and squarely within the tradition of the wider church.
  • Our Place (small 'High Church' C of E) has just two hymns on Good Friday. This year, they're 'There is a green hill far away', and 'When I survey the wondrous cross'. Father NewPriest requests no organ music (!), so we'll sing these a capella.

ISTM that 'When I survey the wondrous cross', if it's not one of your other hymns, might be a suitable solo - it is, after all, written in very personal terms.