Social Media and the privacy of private prayer

Right, this is me wanting to have a go through my thinking. So I am starting this in Purgatory, but could see cases for it being in Kergymania or Ecclesiantics.

When I was a student many moons ago I once heard another student take Matthew 6:3-4 on giving and argue that while it is right for a Christian to give to a charity they should not take any visible sign that they have given such as a sticker. It made an impression on me and I have largely kept it ever since. It can be particularly interesting around events like Red Nose Day or Remembrance Sunday where I feel in the minority who are not wearing a symbol of giving to the respective charity. Please note I may give but will not take a badge to say I have.

Now the bit that I am struggling with. I have over the years argued that if I hold that, then Matthew 6:5 has also implications on how free I can be about how I pray and who I am praying for. If you are not the person being prayed for or the person who asked me to pray for something then it is not my business to tell who I am praying for. If asked specifically I will give a yes or no answer and leave it at that. For instance, it means I will not post that I have prayed on any ship-of-fools thread.

I will participate in prayer groups but as a rule, will not talk about the prayers said in them afterwards. I will lead public prayer but I tend to be at the formal, nebulous end and slightly uncomfortable with praying publicly for individuals.

Now I come to the issue. I recently got asked to participate in a group who are praying for a specific prayer request. The request came through an online messaging app and I am pretty sure is private (only open to the individuals who are invited to participate). I again simply gave my yes or no and left it at that. However, I get pinged every time a member messages the group and many of them are simply people stating that they have prayed that day.