Solitary Orthodox

AngusAngus Shipmate Posts: 34
I live in the wilds of Scotland, in a very remote area. I’m seriously contemplating taking the leap and converting formally to Orthodoxy...I’m not a beginner, I’ve lived in Cyprus and spent time in monastery’s there....problem is, where I live makes getting to liturgy difficult, I might only make it once every few months. I do view this situation as not all bad!, a challenge given to be overcome. I wondered if there are any others in a similar position? How do you manage? Personally, I am quite happy pursuing a kind of third order type rule at home, interspersed with occasional visits to church and monastery retreats when I go to Cyprus. Any thought welcome.👍☦️

Comments

• I'm an Episcopalian in a similar situation - it's often months even in non-covid times between opportunities to receive Holy Communion. I worship with the local Church of Scotland congregation which feels a little like a starvation diet when you're used to partaking of Christ's banquet each Sunday (this isn't to denigrate the faithful witness of the Kirk but to emphasise the difference in experience) but I think is essential to my Christian discipleship. It is important that we are part of a local Christian community, because that roots our faith in our day-to-day life. If we allow them to become separate we do a disservice to both.