Bishops consecrated at Canterbury Cathedral

Hello, all! I've been browsing these pages for some 15 years or more, but only now have I got round to creating myself an account. For my first thread I wanted to ask a rather mundane question that has nonetheless puzzled me for some time.

As some of you may already have guessed from my user name, I'm no longer active in Anglican circles, although I used to be very much so and have attended quite a few consecrations of bishops in my time. The first time in many years that I took any notice of the consecrations of bishops was when the first female bishops were consecrated for the Church of England. The thing that struck me as a bit odd was that it took place at Canterbury Cathedral. I assumed that it was just to mark the fact that it was something of a historic occasion. But then I got Googling more recently and discovered that recently quite a few bishops, of both sexes, have been consecrated at Canterbury Cathedral.

The reason that this struck me as peculiar was that it had always been my understanding in my Anglican days that bishops consecrated for the Province of Canterbury were by custom (if not by any formal requirement) consecrated in London, typically at Southwark Cathedral, St Paul's Cathedral, or Westminster Abbey, Southwark, I was once told, being by some margin the most popular, as the bishops designate have tended to feel that that is where the liturgy is in the best hands! I even remember reading somewhere that there was a tradition that the bishop designate dined with the archbishop of Canterbury at Lambeth Palace the night before his consecration, slept at the palace overnight, and then was taken by river the following day to the place of his consecration (I guess there are suitable places to alight from presumably a fairly small vessel at Westminster, Southwark, and in the City).