Ritual as 'insult'

Comments

• mousethief wrote: »
    How does one approximately venerate an icon?

You kiss the wall next to it?
  • Approximately?

Ha ha ...

No, you're right. I do venerate icons and pretty much do everything the Orthodox do except receive the Holy Gifts or go to the priest for confession. I did try that once ...

I s'pose what I meant was I 'approximate' some of the moves. I don't know how to do all the manouevres they perform when venerating icons, for instance. I'm not very good at remembering sequences of physical actions such as barn dance steps and so on so I never know if I'm doing things properly.

I was also laying out some wriggle room for any who might think that an outsider like me could only 'approximate' to what insiders do. Something like that.

I daresay most Orthodox wouldn't trouble themselves over what I did or didn't do as long as I didn't try to receive communion.

• BoogieBoogie Shipmate
    edited July 2018
    I think a lot of what @Jengie Jon describes is habit rather than ritual. I rely very much on those kind of habits as my adhd brain needs them to function and make sure I don’t waste the day.

But children’s bedtime rituals, our farewell rituals when leaving the house etc have more meaning and religious rituals even more (for some). At times of celebration or loss they take on even more meaning imo. On Christmas Day we had lots of early morning rituals (actually designed to keep the kids in bed for longer!) but, even at 18 years old, the boys insisted on carrying them out! :)