Evensong

This is from the Church Leaders website. I have shared it with quite a few people, They like the idea.

Evensong: Church of England Resurrects Tradition to Attract Millenials

Comments

• BabyWombatBabyWombat Shipmate
    In the late 1960’s I was a devout Catholic college student. I discovered Evensong at St. Bartholomew’s in New York City. It was bliss! Excellent music directed by a top notch organist with an equally talented choir, all in a calm and peaceful setting. I was needing to watch my pennies, and Evensong provided a peaceful, well performed concert that fed my musical soul. Now I’m a priest in TEC….. how kind of God to draw me in through music. May this “new discovery” prosper!
  • Some churches have never stopped celebrating Evensong. I don't think I've ever attended a church that didn't have at least one Evensong service a month. It's really not new, it's just been discovered by a different group of people.
  • finelinefineline Purgatory Host
    The title seems misleading, because the article doesn’t seem to be saying the tradition is being resurrected - more that it is continuing and has had a significant increase in attendance, so they’ve made a website about it to make it more widely known, and are suggesting more churches do it.
  • PuzzlerPuzzler Shipmate
    Our place does Evensong every week. Not with our choir, as such, though several choir members do attend, plus other good singers. Everyone sings the Psalms and Canticles, as well as the hymns.
    Total attendance is around 10-14.
    However we have not any new people attend for some time, and definitely no Millennials. We live in hope!
  • Hookers_TrickHookers_Trick Admin Emeritus