Cool Britannia (sort of): the British thread 2019

PigletPiglet All Saints Host, Circus Host
It's now late-ish evening on 1st January in Blighty, so time for a shiny new thread.

I did something I've never done before on New Year's Day* - I went to church. There was a communion service celebrated by the Bishop, followed by rather good nibbles; although the choir wasn't needed, D. had to play for it, and I thought, why shouldn't I go along? I really quite enjoyed it, even though it was from the BAS (modern words, which I don't like), and I was glad I went.

After some napping, I made a casserole of lamb chops, which we've just eaten, so I think some more napping might be in order.

Hope you all had a good New Year. :smiley:

* except when New Year's Day has fallen on a Sunday

Comments

• HeavenlyannieHeavenlyannie Shipmate
    edited January 1
    Sounds like a lovely day, Piglet. Thanks for the thread.
    We’ve had a lazy day in front of the television, though I did sort out my eldest’s clothes and bagged items for the charity collection.
    I’m quite looking forward to doing some work tomorrow (I’m officially not back til Saturday but I’m teaching Saturday morning so need to prep for that). I need to write my university blog, reflecting on the past year, which I’m looking forward to as I decided 2018 was the year I would take my first steps to become a serious academic. Obviously at 49 years I left it a bit late :) I want to spend tomorrow making plans for the coming year.
  • I’ve had a productive day, hopefully setting the theme for the rest of the year: I started by pruning my grape vine and blackcurrant bush, and harvesting and cleaning 2 buckets full of Jerusalem Artichokes (not quite sure what I’ll do with so much).