Memories of discovering the Internet

ClimacusClimacus Shipmate
Brought about by this news item.

Mine was heading to uni in 1995. I studied Computing Science so I was in that nerdy area where we used the thing. I remember loading up Netscape Navigator and being amazed. Nothing like the multitude of websites we have now, but people created pages, and I could create pages after learning HTML. And Yahoo even had a catalogue of websites!

And newsgroups -- oh my! I could type some contribution to some insanely narrow interest group from Sydney and someone in California would respond almost instantly! It was amazing. Astonishing to me. Now I get grumpy if a colleague doesn't respond to a Skype chat or email within a few minutes...ha ha.

What are your memories? When and where did you discover this thing that now is so entwined in our lives?

Comments

• MaryLouiseMaryLouise Shipmate
    Dial up with Alta Vista, 1996 or so.
  • Oh yes, Dial-up ... rushing round the Web as fast as you could because you were paying by the minute, waiting for frustratingly slow pages to load ... and the accompanying sound effects.

And needing to get help over the phone (at 50p or £1 per minute, following a lengthy wait to be connected) as follows:

"Can you log on to the Internet now?"
    "No, because I'm on the phone to you".
    "Do you have access to your computer now?"
    "No, because it's upstairs in the study and I'm downstairs in the hall".

And then scribbling down a succession of keystrokes (which you barely understood), trying them out, failing to get the d+mn+d thing to work, and repeating the sorry process all over again ...
  • We discovered the internet between 1996 to 1998 at university. Then dial up internet at home from about 2001, because my daughter needed it for school work, and her class was banned from the internet. And trying to fit all the internet use into the cheap hours, so before 6:30am and in the evening. I can't remember when I got broadband.