Please see Styx thread on the Registered Shipmates consultation for the main discussion forums - your views are important, continues until April 4th.

8th Day, Write or Wrong: Writer's Block

HedgehogHedgehog Shipmate
edited January 2019 in Limbo
Although not creative writing in the normal sense, I do write for a living. Not to get into details (because I am a shy hedgehog) but I do legal writing.

And today I am struggling with writer's block. I know generally what I want to say, I know where I want it to go, but I spent the better part of the afternoon staring at the screen trying to get the words to fall into place. Of course, part of that may be that the new Ship has launched and I'd rather be playing on the brand new shuffleboard court...but I suspect I am using that as an excuse.

So how do you all battle writer's block?

Comments

• RossweisseRossweisse Hell Host, 8th Day Host, Glory
    I find the power of a deadline inspiring - that, and my need to earn a living.

There was a science fiction writer (Niven? Pournelle?) who used to do his writing on a bare-bones computer in a room with no distractions, including no internet connection. Some days it feels as though that's what's needed. And when I'm really having a hard time concentrating on writing, I turn off my phone and put it in another room. (Get thee behind me, Words with Friends.)

Rossweisse // I'm not dead yet