God and time

churchgeekchurchgeek Shipmate
I've been wondering about this lately, and am hoping some folks here - especially those with some scientific background - can elucidate it for me.

My current understanding is that due to relativity, it makes no sense to speak of a common time between distant points in the universe - e.g., that something could happen at the "same time" here on earth and on a planet out in some distant galaxy. I'm sure that's oversimplified, but I'm not a scientist. So I'm hoping for some clarification on that.

What I'm wondering is, what does that do to traditional ideas about God's relationship to time? Traditionally, God has been said to be "outside time," in "eternity" (which apparently can have events happen in it and yet be outside time).

I probably need a refresher in the relationship between space and time, or time and matter. I can google that, but feel free to speak to that as well.

The old theological assumptions were built on what seems to me a spatial metaphor - that God is somehow "above" or "outside" the cosmos, able to see it all at once, including time. As far as I can tell, that assumption still is pretty embedded in theology. Open & Relational Theology (ORT) - in regards to the "open" part - argues that God's future is genuinely open; that God is within time. But if God is in relationship (the second part of ORT) with every one of God's creatures, including all the inanimate matter throughout the universe/multiverse, then how can God be in time in any meaningful way? And does our current understanding of time, space, and matter affect the more traditional view?

Comments

• ArethosemyfeetArethosemyfeet Shipmate
    edited May 3
    I've always considered that the discovery that time is bound up with the laws of this universe accords with the idea that God is not bound by it. [Disclosure: I'm professionally qualified in Theoretical Physics but barely count as an interested amateur in theology]