Suspicions of abuse

DoublethinkDoublethink Admin, 8th Day Host
You may have seen this news story.

We can’t speculate on the culpability of the man against whom the allegations were made. But for the future - what do we expect an institution to do in this situation ?

Comments

• I'm a safeguarding officer for a Church of England parish. Based on this - what safeguarding? I appreciate that there are issues of justice and equity which must be taken into account, and allegations can't be acted on without testing, but this sort of inactivity over 20 years reminds me of the issues discussed on the thread about statutes of limitations. I'm not sure that anything that is fully just to all sides in such situations is possible, but this one seems a particularly poor case. There are probably quite a few more - probably not statistically massive as a proportion of all clergy, but significant in their impact on those involved, and on the reputation of the church and indeed the Christian faith as a whole.
  • DoublethinkDoublethink Admin, 8th Day Host
    edited August 13
    My impression is that in this situation they would not have a legal basis to dismiss the clergyman ? That might have been different if he had not held some kind of freehold.
  • There was no speculation about suspicions from his former Bishop, just a blunt statement about Hindley being a danger to children and young people. It's horrendous that such abuse is occurring so blatantly in the Churchnof England and other major institutions in 2024.

How do you continue working alongside someone when you know they are grooming and abusing in this way?
    The former Bishop of Blackburn Julian Henderson described the financial settlement when he was in post as the “only option” left for the Church “to protect children and vulnerable young people from the risk Canon Hindley posed”.